About the FSMA

The Financial Services and Markets Authority strives to ensure the honest and equitable treatment of financial consumers and the integrity of the financial markets.

The various players in the Belgian financial sector are under permanent supervision, for different aspects of their business, in order to secure confidence in the financial markets and to see to it that investors and financial consumers are treated honestly, fairly and professionally.

The supervision is organised according to the “Twin Peaks” model, with two autonomous supervisors, namely the National Bank of Belgium and the Financial Services and Markets Authority(abbreviated FSMA), each of which has a specific set of objectives.

The FSMA is responsible for supervising the financial markets and the information disseminated by companies, certain categories of financial service providers and intermediaries, compliance by financial intermediaries with conduct of business rules, the marketing of financial products to the general public, and supplementary pensions. The Belgian government has also tasked the FSMA with contributing to the financial education of savers and investors.

Please consult the introductory brochure for a brief overview of the FSMA, its powers and its organisation.

La FSMA

L’Autorité des services et marchés financiers veille au traitement honnête et équitable du consommateur financier et à l’intégrité des marchés financiers.

Les différents acteurs du secteur financier belge sont, dans plusieurs domaines, soumis à un contrôle permanent dont l’objectif est de préserver la stabilité des marchés financiers ainsi que la confiance placée dans ces marchés, et de garantir un traitement honnête, équitable et professionnel des investisseurs et des consommateurs financiers.

Ce contrôle est exercé selon le modèle « Twin Peaks », un modèle bipolaire reposant sur deux autorités de contrôle autonomes, à savoir la Banque Nationale de Belgique et l’Autorité des services et marchés financiers, en abrégé FSMA, qui sont chacune chargées de tâches spécifiques.

La FSMA a pour mission d’assurer la surveillance des marchés financiers et le contrôle de l’information diffusée par les sociétés, de contrôler certaines catégories de prestataires de services financiers et d’intermédiaires, de veiller au respect des règles de conduite par les établissements financiers, de superviser la commercialisation des produits financiers destinés au grand public et d’exercer le contrôle des pensions complémentaires. Le législateur a également chargé la FSMA d’apporter une contribution à l’éducation financière des épargnants et des investisseurs.

Vous trouverez dans la brochure de présentation des informations succinctes sur la FSMA, ses compétences et son organisation.