News & Warnings

Athos International Management BVBA - “Eagle Crest Insurance” - “Eagle Crest Underwriter”

Warnings
18/02/2016

The Financial Services and Markets informs the public that on 15 February 2016 it withdrew the registration of Athos International Management BVBA from the register of insurance intermediaries and that therefore the said company no longer holds the registration necessary to carry on the activities of insurance intermediation in Belgium.

Athos International Management BVBA, which is also active under the trading names “Eagle Crest Insurance” and “Eagle Crest Underwriter”, currently has its registered office at Strobloemenlaan/Avenue des Immortelles 3, 1070 Brussels, and also has an operational centre at Mechelsesteenweg 93, 2018 Antwerp.

According to the information available to the FSMA, Athos International Management BVBA acts as an underwriter (also known as an “underwriting agency”) for various insurance companies active in Belgium via the freedom to provide services. In that capacity, it held authorizations from those insurance companies to act on their behalf and worked with other insurance intermediaries registered in Belgium.

An enquiry conducted by the FSMA indicated that Athos International Management BVBA is unable to demonstrate whether all insurance policies written through its intermediation or managed by it were in fact covered by an insurance company.

There is therefore a risk that certain insurance policies sold via Athos International Management BVBA may not in fact be covered.

The FSMA decided for that reason to make public its decision to withdraw the company’s registration. The FSMA advises clients of Athos International Management BVBA, and/or of the insurance intermediaries though which the company worked with, to check whether their risks or their clients’ risks are in fact covered.

The decision to withdraw the registration of Athos International Management BVBA from the register of insurance intermediaries, and the decision to make the withdrawal public, are subject to appeal to the Council of State (Raad van State/Conseil d’Etat).

If you wish to check in general whether an intermediary has the requisite registration, please use the search function (available in Dutch and French only) on the website of the FSMA. You can also contact the FSMA (email address: info@fsma.be).

Actualités et Mises en garde

Athos International Management BVBA - “Eagle Crest Insurance” - “Eagle Crest Underwriter”

Mises en garde
18/02/2016

L’Autorité des services et marchés financiers (FSMA) informe le public du fait qu’elle a procédé le 15 février 2016 à la radiation de l’inscription d’Athos International Management SPRL au registre des intermédiaires d’assurances. Cette société ne dispose donc plus de l’inscription requise pour pouvoir exercer l’activité d’intermédiation en assurances en Belgique.

Athos International Management SPRL, qui est également active sous les dénominations commerciales « Eagle Crest Insurance » et « Eagle Crest Underwriter », est actuellement établie à 1070 Bruxelles, Avenue des Immortelles 3, et dispose également d’un siège d’exploitation à  2018 Antwerpen, Mechelsesteenweg 93.

Selon les informations dont la FSMA dispose, Athos International Management SPRL intervient en tant que souscripteur mandaté (également appelé « agence de souscription » ou « underwriter ») de diverses entreprises d’assurances actives en Belgique via le régime de la libre prestation de services. En cette qualité, elle disposait de mandats en vue de représenter ces entreprises d’assurances et collaborait avec d’autres intermédiaires d’assurances inscrits en Belgique.

Une enquête de la FSMA a laissé apparaître qu’Athos International Management SPRL ne pouvait pas démontrer que toutes les polices d’assurance créées par le biais de son activité d’intermédiation ou gérées par elle faisaient effectivement l’objet d’une couverture auprès d’une entreprise d’assurances agréée.

Il est donc possible que certains risques placés par l’intermédiaire d’Athos International Management SPRL ne soient en réalité pas assurés.

C’est la raison pour laquelle la FSMA a décidé de publier sa décision de radiation. Elle conseille aux clients d’Athos International Management SPRL et/ou aux intermédiaires d’assurances ayant collaboré avec cette société de se mettre en contact avec leur entreprise d’assurances afin d’examiner si leurs risques ou les risques de leurs clients font bel et bien l’objet d’une couverture.

La décision de procéder à la radiation de l’inscription d’Athos International Management SPRL au registre des intermédiaires d’assurances et la décision de publier cette décision de radiation sont susceptibles de recours devant le Conseil d’Etat.

Voulez-vous, de manière plus générale, vérifier si un intermédiaire dispose de l’inscription requise ? Utilisez alors le moteur de recherche sur le site de la FSMA. Vous pouvez également contacter directement la FSMA (e-mail : info@fsma.be).