Consumers

‘Recovery room’ fraud is a practice that consists of contacting investors who have already been victims of investment fraud.

This type of fraud involves contacting such investors without their having requested it, offering to help them recover the sums they lost, on condition that the investor makes an additional payment or opens an account on a trading platform. If a financial contribution is requested before the service proposed is provided, that is a clear indication that this is a ‘recovery room’.

Despite the promises of those making these offers, the victims never recover the money they lost, and in fact go on to lose the further amount paid in order to receive the promised assistance.

The persons behind a recovery room are often the original swindlers or other fraudsters who have acquired lists of victims of fraud. Any investor who has ever been the victim of an investment fraud needs to be aware that the swindlers may target him or her again or may sell his or her coordinates.

Do you suspect that the offer being made to you may be fraudulent?

Have you been the victim of investment or credit fraud and you don’t know what to do?

If so, please contact the FSMA directly.

Don’t fall into the trap, follow our recommendations!
 

  • Always check the identity of the person or company contacting you (have you checked the name, registered office, home country, contact details and whether it holds an authorization to make you this type of offer?).

    If you cannot clearly establish the company’s identity, it should not be trusted. If the company is based outside the European Union, you should be aware of the difficulty of legal recourse in the event of a dispute.
  • Be wary as well of ‘cloned firms’.

    These are companies that pass themselves off as different, lawful companies even though they in fact have no connection with the latter. A close look at the email addresses or contact details for the companies in question may prove useful in order to detect potential fraud of this sort.
  • Be wary of cold calling.

    This refers to the practice of contacting you by telephone or email in order to make you a financial offer without your having made a prior request for such contact. Such calls are often indications of an attempt at fraud.
  • Be wary of any requests to transfer money to a bank account in a country that is different from the one where the company’s registered office is located.

  • Be wary if the person contacting you asks you to pay a fee or tax in advance or to invest in new shares in order to recover the initial investment; this is a clear indication of a ‘recovery room’.

Consommateurs

La fraude de type « recovery room » est une pratique frauduleuse qui concerne les investisseurs qui ont déjà été victimes d’une arnaque à l’investissement.

Cette pratique consiste à contacter ces investisseurs sans qu’ils l’aient souhaité afin de leur proposer de l’aide en vue de récupérer les sommes perdues moyennant, par exemple, le versement d’un certain montant ou l’ouverture d’un compte sur une plateforme de trading. Si une contribution financière préalable au service proposé est demandée, cela constitue clairement un indice de « recovery room ».

En dépit des promesses faites par les escrocs, la victime ne récupèrera pas l’argent perdu mais perdra en outre également l’argent qu’elle aura dépensé pour obtenir l’aide promise.

Les personnes qui se cachent derrière une recovery room sont souvent les mêmes escrocs que dans le cadre de la fraude initiale ou d’autres escrocs qui se sont procurés des listes de victimes de fraude. Tout investisseur qui a déjà été victime d’une fraude à l’investissement doit être conscient que les escrocs sont susceptibles de le viser à nouveau ou de revendre ses données.

Un doute sur le caractère frauduleux de l’offre qui vous est faite ?

Vous êtes victime d’une fraude à l’investissement et vous ne savez pas quoi faire ?

Prenez directement contact avec la FSMA.

Ne tombez pas dans le panneau, suivez nos conseils !
 

  • Vérifiez toujours l’identité de votre interlocuteur (avez-vous vérifié son nom, son siège social, son pays d’établissement, ses coordonnées de contact et s’il dispose d’une autorisation spécifique pour proposer ce type d’offre ?).

    Si vous ne pouvez pas identifier clairement votre interlocuteur, aucune confiance ne peut lui être accordée. S’il est établi en dehors de l’Union européenne, vous devez être conscient des difficultés de recours en cas d’éventuel conflit.
  • Méfiez-vous également des « cloned firms ».

    Il s’agit de sociétés qui se font passer pour d’autres sociétés, régulières, alors qu’elles n’ont aucun lien avec celles-ci. Il s’agit bien souvent d’une usurpation d’identité. L’examen des adresses e-mail ou des données de contact des sociétés en question permet de détecter ce type de fraude.
  • Méfiez-vous du « cold calling ».

    Si une personne vous contacte par téléphone sans que vous l’ayez demandé et vous propose de récupérer les fonds que vous avez perdus, demandez-lui comment elle a découvert que vous aviez perdu de l’argent. Les signalements de fraude ne sont communiqués qu’aux autorités judiciaires et non à des entreprises privées.
  • Méfiez-vous si votre interlocuteur vous demande de verser de l’argent vers un compte bancaire ouvert dans un pays différent de celui où est situé son siège social.

  • Méfiez-vous si votre interlocuteur vous demande au préalable de payer une indemnité (« fee ») ou une taxe ou d’investir dans de nouvelles actions pour pouvoir récupérer l’investissement initial, cela constitue clairement un indice de « recovery room ».